Royal Australian Mint Releases Limited Edition Coins to Celebrate AC/DC’s 45th Anniversary of Let There Be Rock That Will Have Fans Doing The ‘Bad Boy Boogie’


This year officially marks the 45th anniversary of AC/DC’s five times Platinum selling studio album, Let There Be Rock. To celebrate this momentous milestone in music history, the Royal Australian Mint (The Mint) is releasing the second coin set in their AC/DC collection trilogy.

Hailing from Sydney, AC/DC or ‘Acca Dacca’ as dubbed by Australian fans, made their international debut in the early 70s. From their electric high energy shows to record breaking albums, these Rock & Roll Hall of Fame legends have been one of the biggest rock bands for almost five decades and counting.

The limited edition set of six 20 cent coins are shaped as mini vinyl records and come packaged in a vinyl sleeve inside a roadie box.

Each coin design is inspired by AC/DC albums commemorating upcoming anniversaries, including:

  • 45th anniversary of Let There Be Rock (1977)
  • 45th anniversary of Powerage (1978) in 2023
  • 40th anniversary of Flick of the Switch (1983) in 2023
  • 35th anniversary of Blow Up Your Video (1988) in 2023
  • 15th anniversary of Black Ice (2008) in 2023

The sixth coin in the collection is a special commemorative coin only available within the 6-coin collection, and each of the AC/DC album inspired coins are available to be purchased individually.

Royal Australian Mint’s CEO, Leigh Gordon says, “Known for their raw and electrifying energy, it’s no secret AC/DC has made a mark on music fans across the globe. The Mint is thrilled to celebrate not one but six massive milestones from one of the world’s most recognised bands. What better way to celebrate these anniversaries than with limited edition AC/DC coins that every AC/DC fan needs in their collection.”

The limited edition coins are officially licensed AC/DC merchandise and are available now from the Mint’s online store at RRP $110 AUD.

Media or 6202 3466