Dutch-Australian histories highlighted 400 years on with coin remembering Dirk Hartog and his crew

To mark 400 years since Dutch East India Company (VOC) Captain Dirk Hartog and the crew of the Eendracht landed on the West Australian coast, the Royal Australian Mint (the Mint) has released a special commemorative coin featuring the original text inscribed on the pewter plate that noted their arrival, as well as its translation to English.

On 25 October 1616, the crew of the Eendracht made history as the first European visitors to record their visit to Australia. This record was made by leaving a flattened pewter plate inscribed with details of their landfall and onward journey.

Mrs Erica Schouten, Ambassador of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Australia, said  the coin is symbolic of the proud history shared by Australia and the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

“This coin is a wonderful souvenir to commemorate the Dirk Hartog anniversary year, as it is a timeless piece that signifies the long standing shared history between the Netherlands and Australia. We are proud that our country is now also portrayed on official Australian currency,” said Mrs Schouten.

Mint CEO Mr Ross MacDiarmid said that the Mint hopes that this coin can uncover the story of Dirk Hartog 400 years on for a wider range of Australians.

“Whilst this is the first coin created by the Mint dedicated to Dirk Hartog and his crew, it becomes the focal point in Australia’s long and proud tradition of releasing coins commemorating important historic events of Australian exploration,” said Mr MacDiarmid.

With a limited mintage of only 20 000, the 2016 20c Frosted Uncirculated Coin retails for $10 and can be bought online from the Mint here: https://eshop.ramint.gov.au/400th-Anniversary-of-Dirk-Hartog-s-Landfall/311261.aspx

A number of these coins will also be available for purchase at the Dirk Hartog - Voyage of Discovery: Shark Bay 1616 Festival from 21 – 25 October 2016.

For images of the coin please see below.

To find out more on celebrations taking place to commemorate the Dirk Hartog 2016 anniversary year, visit dirkhartog2016.nl.

-- ENDS –

For media enquiries contact:
Elyse Moore, Royal Australian Mint – (02) 6202 6975 or elyse.moore@ramint.gov.au

2016 20c Frosted Uncirculated Coin - Reverse
2016 20c Frosted Uncirculated Coin - Obverse
2016 20c Frosted Uncirculated Coin - Packaging