Christmas Holiday Opening Hours and Tour Times

This year, the Mint will close at 1pm on Friday 24 December, reopening at 10.00am on Boxing Day (Sunday, 26 December 2021)

When planning your visit please keep in mind that the factory will not be in production from close of business Thursday 23 December 2021 and will reopen on Tuesday 4 January 2022.

What will I see and do when visiting the Mint?
A visit to the Royal Australian Mint is a unique experience accessible to everyone.
Head upstairs to our factory viewing area to see where the coins are made. Even when the factory isn’t producing coins there are still many things to see and do. Interactive touchscreens explain the coin making process and videos take you even closer to the action! Take a walk through our galleries of rare and significant coins, and watch a short film on our history.
Downstairs you can mint your own $1 coin (cost is $3), browse the coin shop and enjoy refreshments at the café.

Can I still buy coins?
The Mint’s Coin Shop will be open during business hours as listed below.
Our Contact Centre will be closed from Friday 24 December 2021 and will reopen on Tuesday 4 January 2022.
During the holiday period our eShop will still be accessible, click here to start shopping!

Date

Opening hours

Tour times

Monday 20 December

8:30am to 5pm

10am, 11am, 12pm, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm

Tuesday 21 December

8:30am to 5pm

10am, 11am, 12pm, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm

Wednesday 22 December

8:30am to 5pm

10am, 11am, 12pm, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm

Thursday 23 December

8:30am to 5pm

10am, 11am, 12pm, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm

Friday 24 December

8.30am to 1pm

10am, 11am, 12pm

Saturday 25 December

 CLOSED

 

Sunday 26 December

10am to 4pm

11am 12pm, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm

Monday 27 December

10am to 4pm

11am 12pm, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm

Tuesday 28 December

10am to 4pm

11am 12pm, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm

Wednesday 29 December

8:30am to 5pm

10am, 11am, 12pm, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm

Thursday 30 December

8:30am to 5pm

10am, 11am, 12pm, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm

Friday 31 December

8:30am to 5pm

10am, 11am, 12pm, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm

Saturday 1 January

10am to 4pm

11am 12pm, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm

Sunday 2 January

10am to 4pm

11am 12pm, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm

Monday 3 January

10am to 4pm

11am 12pm, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm

Tuesday 4 January

8:30am to 5pm

10am, 11am, 12pm, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm

Wednesday 5 January

8:30am to 5pm

10am, 11am, 12pm, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm