Corporate Profile

The Royal Australian Mint (the Mint) became a prescribed agency within the Treasury portfolio on 1 July 2005, with responsibility for producing circulating coin for Australia. With the introduction of the PGPA Act 2013, the Mint is now classed as a listed entity within Treasury.

The Mint was established in Canberra in 1965, one year prior to Australia's changeover to decimal currency and since 1983 has been the sole supplier of Australia's circulating coin requirements. (Between 1965 and 1983 the Mint's production of Australian circulating coinage was supplemented by production from Britain's Royal Mint and the Royal Canadian Mint.) Since its establishment, the Mint has produced in excess of over 17 billion Australian decimal coins.

The Mint also produces a range of high quality collector coins (numismatic coins) which are sold through an extensive mail order operation, e-commerce, a network of domestic and international coin dealers, selected Australia Post outlets and the Mint shop. In addition, the Mint produces a number of Australian medals and awards, as well as tokens, medallions and jewellery items. The Mint is also a major Canberra tourist attraction with a public gallery and shop.

The Mint also produces circulating and collector coins for a number of foreign countries.

The Mint is committed to upholding its reputation as one of the leading producers of quality coins in the world and to achieving business excellence.

Our Vision

Excellence as a profitable world class Mint

Our Mission

To meet the circulating coin and numismatic needs of the nation

Our Values

The Mint upholds the Australian Public Service (APS) values as set out in the Public Service Act 1999.

  • Impartial – the Mint provides the Government with advice that is frank, honest, timely and based on the best available evidence.
  • Committed to service – the Mint serves the coinage needs of the Australian community.
  • Accountable – the Mint is open and accountable to the Australian community under the law and within the framework of Ministerial responsibility.
  • Respectful – the Mint respects all people, including their rights and their heritage.
  • Ethical – the Mint demonstrates leadership, is trustworthy, and acts with integrity, in all that it does.