Coin Types

To meet the needs of all people, the Mint produces three distinct types of coin

Since opening in 1965, the Royal Australian Mint has produced over 15 billion coins. These have been spent, saved and collected by people throughout Australia (and the world), each one demonstrating the ways that coins mean different things to different people. To meet the needs of all people, the Mint produces three distinct types of coin.

Circulating CoinsCirculating Coins
These are mass-produced coins, used for everyday cash transactions. Made from base metals such as copper, nickel and aluminium, they are struck at the rate of up to 650 per minute. While they ordinarily feature reverse designs of Australian fauna (or an Aboriginal elder on the two dollar coin), many commemorative coins are released to mark events, people or organisations which have had a significant impact on Australian society.

Collector CoinsCollector Coins
These products are legal tender in Australia, but are produced to be used as gifts or souvenirs, or as pieces for collections. To meet the needs of different interests or budgets, these pieces are produced in a range of different finishes, and feature a broad range of themes.

Investment CoinsPremium Products
These are the Royal Australian Mint’s most valuable products. Made of precious metals with small mintages, they are true highlights of the Mint’s commitment to artistic and engineering excellence.

Investment Coins
These products are formed from precious metals and are a safe and tangible form of investment.  Produced in large quantities, they are also an inexpensive and easy way of entering the gold and metal markets. Our range of investment coins include a variety of sizes and themes which also make them a great and valuable gift.