The Queen Elizabeth II Memorial Obverse - FAQs

Q. What is the difference between the current obverse and The Queen Elizabeth II Memorial Obverse?

A. The Queen Elizabeth II Memorial Obverse is identical to existing obverse designs and features the Jody Clark effigy. The only difference is the addition of Her Majesty’s years of reign – 1952 – 2022.

Q. What coins will feature The Queen Elizabeth II Memorial Obverse?

Christmas Holiday Opening Hours and Tour Times

This year, the Mint will close at 4.00pm AEDT Saturday 24 December 2022, reopening at 10.00am AEDT on Boxing Day (Monday, 26 December 2022)

When planning your visit, please keep in mind that the factory will not be in production from close of business Friday 23 December 2022 and will reopen on Tuesday 3 January 2023.

As this is a busy period, please book your tour in advance here.

What will I see and do when visiting the Mint?

It’s Mint to Be - The Mint wins at the Canberra Region Tourism Awards

The 2022 Canberra Region Tourism Awards took place on Friday 25 November 2022 at the Parliament House. This special gala ceremony brings together the tourism excellence that Canberra has to offer.

The Royal Australian Mint was honoured to take home the Cultural Tourism Award and the People’s Choice Award for Favourite Attraction.

In the past year we've seen 257,531 visitors to the Mint including 43,723 students.

November Release Update

We’re pleased to announce that on Thursday December 1 at 8.30am AEDT the Mint’s eShop allocations of the following products will be available to purchase online. Thank you all for your patience.

•2022 $1 Uncirculated Coin - Centenary of The Smith Family*

•2022 $5 Coloured Fine Silver Proof Domed Coin - Daintree Rainforest*

•2022 $100 Coloured Gold Proof Domed Coin - Daintree Rainforest

•2023 Six-Coin Proof Year Set – Centenary of Vegemite

•2023 Six-Coin Uncirculated Year Set – Centenary of Vegemite


Subscribe to RSS - Noticeboard